Japan and Anthony Van Dyck in Derrinstown reckoning

O’Brien out to continue domination of Derby trial

Up to £30 in free bets

Aidan O’Brien is responsible for seven of the 14 entries in the Derrinstown Stud Derby Trial at Leopardstown on Sunday.

The County Tipperary handler has saddled a remarkable 11 previous winners of this prestigious contest, with subsequent Epsom Derby heroes Galileo (2001) and High Chaparral (2002) joined on the roll of honour by other Ballydoyle greats such as Yeats (2004) and Dylan Thomas (2006).

This year’s potential squad includes Japan – who is a general 6-1 shot for the Investec Derby at Epsom on June 1 – Anthony Van Dyck and impressive Ballysax Stakes victor Broome.

Blenheim Palace, Sovereign, Turnberry Isle and Western Australia complete the Ballydoyle septet.

Joseph O’Brien has course scorer Buckhurst and Grandmaster Flash in the mix, while Jim Bolger has entered Guaranteed and Copia Verborum.

The potential field is completed by Dermot Weld’s pair of Asdaa and Rakan and the Ger Lyons-trained Pythion.

Last seasons’s Derrinstown victor Hazapour is the potential star attraction in the Comer Group International Amethyst Stakes.

Weld’s charge went on to finish fifth at Epsom and his comeback run in the Alleged Stakes at Naas last month was not devoid of promise.

He is among 11 entries for this for the one-mile Group Three, with the William Haggas-trained Addeybb the highest-rated contender.

He could be joined on the trip from Britain by David O’Meara’s Suedois – a previous winner of the Boomerang Stakes over this course and distance – while Aidan O’Brien has two chances in Amedeo Modigliani and Dunkirk Harbour.

The middle of three Group Threes on the card is Derrinstown Stud 1,000 Guineas Trial.

Likely players include Weld’s Titanium Sky, the Mick Halford-trained Hamariyna and Beau Warrior – a five-times winner at Dundalk for Ado McGuinness.

Japan and Anthony Van Dyck in Derrinstown reckoning
Sign up to bet365 using bonus code ATR100
Up to £30 in free bets
Get £20 in free bets
£20 Risk Free First Bet
Up to £30 in free bets
Up to £30 in free bets
Up to £40 in free bets
Up to £40 in bonus funds
Up to £25 in free bets
£20 Free Exchange Bet

Existing User?

Forgot your password?

New User?

Sign up using our simple one-page form and you'll be able to access free video form, tips and exclusive content straight away.